those little strips

diabetes

i find them everywhere.

on the bathroom floor.

on the kitchen floor.

a lone one sits on the dresser.

under the cushions of the couch.

and under the cushions of the love seat.

in the car.

out in the yard when I’m moving the lawn.

and most times when I find one or two or several of them together, I’m annoyed.

annoyed that the kids didn’t throw them in the trash.

but really I’m more annoyed that my kids have to use these strips multiple times each day.

all because of diabetes.

the finger pokes, the tests, the highs, the lows, the injection.

and that little strip reminds me each time I find it what my kids deal with each day.

then, I remember.

without that strip, we’d have no idea how high or low their blood sugar is.

we’d have no way to know the best amount of insulin to give them to help control their diabetes.

and I’m thankful.

thankful for those annoying little strips.

and for the hope we have that with them (and with the use of carb counting and insulin too!), my kids are able to manage this disease.

so I guess I don’t mind finding those little strips all over the house.

but would it be too much to ask for them to throw them in the trash can every once in a while?!

 

* November is Diabetes Awareness Month. I’m taking several posts this month to highlight and bring attention to diabetes and the need for a cure.

2 thoughts on “those little strips

  1. Matt,
    I’m also sorry you keep finding those strips everywhere.
    I like the way you wrote this post… great job capturing your thoughts/feelings in it.
    Honest, poetic, meaningful and more.

    It’s a beautiful piece about a not-so-beautiful part of life.

Leave a Reply

