what I’m reading: Out Live Your Life

books

What if we rocked the world with hope? That’s the question asked on the back of Max Lucado’s latest book, Out Live Your Life.

By taking a look at the early church in the book of Acts, he shows how they turned their world upside down with the message of Jesus.

It’s been a long while since I’ve spent a good deal of time in the book of Acts. And as I read these pages, I was reminded how much I love that book. I love how they cared for one another and shared life together. How they saw needs and helped those who are hurting, poor and without hope. How they prayed and endured. How they lived in community with one another.

Jesus works in community. For that reason you find no personal pronouns in the earliest description of the church:

All the believers devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching, and to fellowship, and to sharing in meals (including the Lord’s Supper*), and to prayer.
A deep sense of awe came over them all, and the apostles performed many miraculous signs and wonders.
And all the believers met together in one place and shared everything they had. They sold their property and possessions and shared the money with those in need. They worshiped together at the Temple each day, met in homes for the Lord’s Supper, and shared their meals with great joy.  (Acts 2:42-46 NLT)

…No I or my or you. We are in this together… We together are his body.

This book has been a great reminder of how we, the church, a community of believers, have the ability to rock our world with the hope of Jesus. We can make a difference.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

