book review: Collapse of Distinction

books, ministry

I recently finished Collapse of Distinction by Scott McKain. I always appreciate the wisdom and insights of a good business book. McKain attempts to help business to really stand out from the crowd of their competition.

With the four cornerstones of Clarity, Creativity, Communication and Customer-Experience Focus, he gives lots of solid examples of companies who stand out in their field. I found the Executive Summary at the end of each chapter to be a great reference for looking back on things you’ve read… I’m not a person who underlines and writes in books (I want the book to look new. I know…weird!) so I found this feature helpful. He also includes some application points and questions at the end of each chapter to help you think through your company/brand and how you can set it apart from the others.

As we have been re-working our process as a church, I have been curious to read things that will help us differentiate ourselves and helps us to clarify who we are. I found this book to be so much on the business side of things that I had a hard time applying many of the principles to how we operate here at RCC. However, I still found it to be a good, easy read and took away several good points. If anything, I feel like the four cornerstones are easily adapted to the church setting.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

