what a year…2009

family, friends, interests, life, ministry, school

The end of another year of my life brings me to look back and reflect on all that has taken place this past year. Here is a look at the highlights of 2009, my last year in my 30s…

  • Started the new year with a father/son weekend in Chicago with Colin. Highlights were Shedd Aquarium and the indoor pool at the hotel!
  • Both Colin & Ethan had ENT surguries
  • Participated in LCC’s mission chapel service with good friends, both old and new
  • Lego Discovery Centre in Chicago with the kids
  • Our wonderful and talented friend Amy Petty stopped in to play at RCC worship services in June. What a treat!
  • NYC trip to visit and encourage our friends at Church of the Incarnation
  • Spent a few days in Louisville at the NACC and got to hang with great friends
  • Got to meet some of the amazing guys from Visioneering and Plain Joe Studios… love what they do.
  • Headed up to the Orchard Community Church for a day of Killing Cockroaches…great church and great speaker.
  • Spent an evening catching up with old friends from my EIU days. Such fun…
  • Finally got my iPhone!
  • Family vacation to Massachusetts via Pennsylvania to visit family and NYC on way back to visit the Storms clan
  • Lobster rolls and clam chowder in York ME!
  • Lots of beach time…something we don’t get in IL.
  • A new school year…for the kids and for me as I continued working on my master’s program
  • H1N1 — a week in bed. Thankfully no one else in our house got it!
  • Then several days of bronchitis as I mended from the flu.
  • Attended Catalyst in Atlanta…first time. Amazing.
  • Had to have Sadie, our Mini-Schnauzer, put to sleep…she was a great dog and we miss her.
  • Lynda and I got away to Harbor of Hope’s 10th birthday. So great to see our good friends and celebrate the first 10 years.
  • Learned our sweet Aubrey has type 1 diabetes. It has been a learning experience for us, to say the least.
  • Finished my most challenging and time consuming class so far in my grad program. And I ended it proudly with a B.
  • Learned I was chosen to be a part of Ben Arment‘s Dream Year in 2010. Super excited about this!
  • Christmas with both sides of our family here in Rochester.

Looking forward to a new year…and not so much to turning 40. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

