three weeks in…

diabetes, family, life

So it’s been 3 weeks since our Aubrey was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. I can say that we are tired of it.

It has been a learning experience…lots of doctor visits, phone calls with nurses, adjustments to insulin, instructions to Aubrey’s teacher and the school nurse, checking her blood sugar level again and again…

And with each new day we are constantly reminded that this will be with her for the rest of her life. And that makes me sad.

Aubrey for the most part is doing well with it. But she has her moments…wouldn’t we all? I hurt for her…and as her dad, I want to make it all go away.

But I can’t.

And so I pray… I pray that God will be with my sweet Aubrey. That he will help her to be strong and brave. That he will help her to deal with the flood of emotions that she experiences each day because of all that is going on inside her tiny body. That he will help her as she learns how to live a healthy, good, fun life in spite of this awful disease. And I pray that she will know that she is loved…by her mom, her dad, her brothers and sister, her entire family and all her friends…but mostly that she will know that she is loved by God.

We will beat this thing, my princess.

2 thoughts on “three weeks in…

  1. Hey Matt…….Thanks for this post bro. We love Aubrey too and I am confident that she will grow up with a confident view of her heavenly father’s love for her because of the example of her earthly father. You are a great dad and example for all of us. Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

