meeting tweets and bloggers

interests, life, ministry

One of the highlights of attending Catalyst was the opportunity to attend the Bloggers Meetup. Brad Ruggles arranged the place and put out the word, and within a couple of weeks, about a hundred bloggers and twitter users signed up for a night of connection and conversation.

I have to admit I was a bit intimidated as I pulled up to the Loafing Leprechaun restaurant that evening. I was going to be rubbing shoulders with some people that I have followed (or stalked, as Lynda likes to say!) online for quite a while. I didn’t really know what to expect.

What I found was that the conversations were relaxed and easy, that we each have a story to share and that God is doing great things in this world. And for me, it was exciting to meet new people that I may not have had the chance to meet otherwise.

  • Matt Appling leads a house church in the Kansas City area.
  • D’Art Strickland is making plans to move to Boston to plant a new church (yeah for Boston!)
  • Brandon Smith is a campus minister in Missouri…he also blogged Catalyst for the Christian Standard.
  • Tim Schrader is the communications director at Park Church in Chicago.

I also had the chance to meet Pete Wilson, Faye Bryant, Tony Steward, Scott Williams, Vince Parker (the last three are all from LifeChurch.tv – doing great things for the Kingdom), Michael Trent and a host of others.

I’m so thankful to have had the opportunity to rub shoulders with these people for those two hours on that Wednesday evening. Through the power of social media, each of these individuals are sharing their stories…their unique story of what God is doing in their life. What a privilege it was to me to get to meet them face to face.

Yeah, I had a fun time. And I walked away with a great swag bag too! Thanks for a great evening Brad…I’ll look forward to next year.

2 thoughts on “meeting tweets and bloggers

Leave a Reply

