you gotta read this — The Road

interests

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while but each time I think about, I don’t have my MacBook handy.

I recently finshed Cormac McCarthy’s The Road and all I can say is ‘amazing.’ Yes, it was one of Oprah’s books…but that’s not why I read it. On a couple of recommendations from some friends who are very well-read (I don’t consider myself in that category!), I decided to pick up a copy.

It’s a gripping story of a father and a son as they travel along in a post-apocolyptic world.  The father’s determination to safely lead his son to a better place (although he doubts a better place exists) is both inspiring and moving. I was brought to tears…literally…as I finished the novel…and thankful that I had read it.

The father’s love for his son was so strong… I could draw out a lot of analogies here… but I think the best thing I can do is to recommend this one…you gotta read this.

Leave a Reply

